KENTUCKY DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

STAFF NOTE

Action/Consent Item:

Appointments to the State Textbook Commission

Applicable Statute or Regulation:

KRS 156.405 (2)

Action Question:

Should the Kentucky Board of Education approve the recommendation for appointments to the State Textbook Commission?

Background/History:

Existing Policy. In accordance with KRS 156.405(2), the Kentucky Board of Education, upon the recommendation of the chief state school officer, approves the appointments of members to the State Textbook Commission for terms of four years.

The State Textbook Commission oversees the state adoption process for textbooks and instructional materials. It consists of ten members who represent the various areas of the commonwealth--two (2) laypersons (one of whom has a child currently in public school), two (2) administrators, five (5) teachers, and one (1) higher education representative. Their responsibilities include approving substitutions, establishing the state multiple list, approving membership for a statewide review team, and developing an evaluation instrument for each adoption group with the assistance of the review team.

Individuals currently serving on the Commission are as follows:

John W. Hardy, teacher, Grant County High School (Grant County) David McFadden, teacher, North Laurel High School (Laurel County) Donna Lovell, administrator, Berea Independent Schools (Madison County) Barbara M. Rollins, teacher, Audubon Elementary (Daviess County) Cherissa Eden, parent/lay citizen (Shelby County) Dr. Cynthia Houston, higher education, Western Kentucky University (Warren County) Vasco Perry, teacher (Hardin County) Mark Thomas, administrator (Spencer County) Patti Jo Bowman, lay citizen (Laurel County) Wendy King, teacher (Rockcastle County) According to KRS 156.405(2), the State Textbook Commission is required to have ten members. As of June 2012, two positions are vacant due to resignations of members.

The following individuals are recommended:

- Re-appoint Cynthia R. Houston. Dr. Houston is a professor at Western Kentucky University where she teaches undergraduate and graduate level courses, including anthropology/folklore, library media education, educational technology, and K-12 workshops on media production. Her twenty years of experience in the field of education include ten years at the administrative level. Dr. Houston believes textbooks should support a curriculum aligned with state standards and provide a framework for the subject being taught. She also believes instructional materials, in addition to textbooks, should contribute different perspectives or enhanced content related to the subject matter.
- Appoint Vasco Perry to one full-term. Mr. Perry fulfilled the remainder of a term for someone who had vacated the position (2011-2014). Mr. Perry is a language arts teacher at James T. Alton Middle School in Hardin County. During his eleven years in education, Mr. Perry has served as a committee member for the adoption of textbooks at his school and as a member of the Kentucky State Textbook Commission. Mr. Perry believes that textbooks are used as guides to reinforce teaching and instructional practices and strategies. He believes that textbooks should be aligned with Kentucky's Core Academic Standards.

Staff Recommendation and Rationale:

Staff recommends the board approve the appointments of Cynthia R. Houston and Vasco Perry to the State Textbook Commission. The applicants are fully qualified to be members of the Commission.

If these members are approved, the composition of the State Textbook Commission will represent all areas of the state, will consist of four (4) males and six (6) females, will be composed of one (1) African-American and eight (8) Caucasians, and meet the requirements set forth in statute.

Impact on Getting to Proficiency Efforts:

This process ensures that teachers and students have access to the most current instructional resources in a variety of formats and learning levels. It will allow districts to determine the instructional resource purchases that best meet the needs of their students to support college and career readiness.

Contact person:

Dr. Amanda Ellis, Associate Commissioner Office Next Generation Learners 502-564-9850 <u>Amanda.ellis@education.ky.gov</u>

Jay Helling

Commissioner of Education

Date:

June 2014