

# JEFFERSON COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

# Minutes of Special Meeting of June 20, 2013

**SPECIAL** meeting of the Jefferson County Board of Education held on Thursday, June 20, 2013, 5:30 p.m., at VanHoose Education Center, 3332 Newburg Road, Louisville, Kentucky.

The purpose of the meeting was a discussion of negotiation strategies.

#### **BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Chair Diane Porter Vice-Chair Carol Ann Haddad

Mr. Chris Brady Mrs. Linda Duncan Mr. David A. Jones, Jr. Mrs. Debbie Wesslund

#### **BOARD MEMBER ABSENT:**

Mr. Chuck Haddaway

## **STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Superintendent Donna M. Hargens, Ed.D.
Cordelia Hardin, Chief Financial Officer
Dr. Michael Raisor, Chief Operations Officer
Rosemary Miller, General Counsel
Stephanie Malone, Assistant General Counsel
Rob Tanner, director, Labor Management and Employee Relations

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Board members met in executive session at 5:37 p.m. for the purpose of discussions concerning negotiation strategies pursuant to KRS 61.810(1)(e) of the Open Meetings Act. Mr. Haddaway was absent; all other Board members were present.

**Order #2013-105 - Motion Passed:** A motion that the Board of Education enter into Executive Session for the purpose of discussions relating to negotiation strategies pursuant to KRS 61.810 (1)(e) of the Open Meetings Act passed with a motion by Mr. Chris Brady and a second by Mrs. Carol Ann Haddad.

| Mr. Chris Brady         | Yes | Mrs. Linda Duncan  | Yes    |
|-------------------------|-----|--------------------|--------|
| Mrs. Carol Ann Haddad   | Yes | Mr. Chuck Haddaway | Absent |
| Mr. David A. Jones, Jr. | Yes | Ms. Diane Porter   | Yes    |
| Mrs. Debbie Wesslund    | Yes |                    |        |

**Order #2013-106 - Motion Passed:** A motion that the Board of Education adjourn from executive session at approximately 7:37 p.m. passed with a motion by Mrs. Debbie Wesslund and a second by Mrs. Carol Ann Haddad.

| Mr. Chris Brady              | Absent | Mrs. Linda Duncan                           | Absent |  |
|------------------------------|--------|---|--------|--|
| Mrs. Carol Ann Haddad        | Yes    | Mr. Chuck Haddaway                          | Absent |  |
| Mr. David A. Jones, Jr.      | Yes    | Ms. Diane Porter                            | Yes    |  |
| Mrs. Debbie Wesslund         | Yes    |   |        |  |
|                              |        |   |        |  |
|                              |        |   |        |  |
|                              |        |   |        |  |
|                              |        |   |        |  |
| Diane Porter, Board Chairman |        | Dr. Donna Hargens, Superintendent/Secretary |        |  |

THESE ACTIONS, ALONG WITH THE AGENDA ITEMS, MAKE UP THE OFFICIAL MINUTES, WHICH ARE ON FILE IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY