Nelson County
July 19, 2016 5:00 PM
Nelson County Regular
I. Call to Order
Board Chair

Pledge of Allegiance


I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the republic for which it stands, one nation, under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.

                     BOARD MISSION STATEMENT

The NELSON COUNTY BOARD of EDUCATION, representatives of our citizens
 and entrusted with their children,
 pledges to support the mission of the
by setting visionary direction through effective policy, oversight
 and efficient resource management.



II. Changes to the Agenda
III. Student & Stakeholder Engagement
III.A. Student Performance
Dr. Orr
III.B. Good News
Dr. Orr
IV. Operations Consent Agenda
Board Chair
Actions Taken

Motion Passed:  Motion to approve consent items as presented passed with a motion by Mrs. Diane Breeding and a second by Mr. David Norman.

IV.A. Information: Personnel Actions

Diana Smith                            Principal                                  Cox’s Creek
Kevin Payton                           Principal                                  New Haven
Jaime Smith                            Principal                                  OKH
Peggy Gaona                           Teacher                                   OKH
Jeffrey Neagle                         Teacher                                   OKH
Makenzie Thomas                   Teacher                                   NCH
Scott Scheerhorn                    Teacher                                   TNHS
Samantha Geary                     Teacher                                   BMS
Hayley Foster                         Teacher                                   BMS
Wesley Broderick                    Teacher                                   NCHS
Dennis Dow                            Teacher                                   NCHS
Richard T. Mudd                      Teacher                                   New Haven
Lila Foster                               IA III                                      Foster Heights
Shannon Layman                    FRYSC Coordinator                  TNHS/NCHS
Anna Maria Voils                     Nurse                                      TNHS/FH
Joseph Walker                        Bus Driver                               Transportation
Heather Styer                         Bus Driver                               Transportation
Devin O’Bryan                        Bus Driver                               Transportation
Hoyt Ball                                Bus Driver                               Transportation
Meagan Spalding                    Speech Pathologist                  BES/BMS
Chris Upton                            Spec Ed Teacher                     FHES
Erin Milburn                            IAIII                                      OKH
Jessica Vittitow                       IAIII                                       OKH
Alicia Newton                          IAIII                                       OKH
Shandy Seymour                    IAIII                                        FHES
Jamie Garcia                           IAIII                                       NCHS

Transfers:  None

 Reinstatements:  None

One Year Certification:  None

 Classified Subs: Brooklyn O’Bryan, Martha Martin, Markus Phillips

 Certified Substitute:  Michelle Blevins, Lauren Furnish, Adam Futch, Thomas Lynch, Jennifer Stumph, Emily Borders, Elaine Arms, Ruth Hamilton, Andrea Darby

 Student Workers:  Paula Marie Gagne, David M. Williams, Larkin Williams

 Non-Renewals:  None          

Leah Hardin                            Principal                                  BES
Mona Miller                             Custodian                               CCES
Charlie Adams                         Teacher                                  TNHS
Andrew Courtney                     Teacher                                  NCHS

Retirements:   None             

 Reprimands/Terminations:  None

IV.B. Treasurer's Report
IV.C. Bills and Claims
IV.D. MUNIS Report
IV.E. Leaves of Absence

There are no active leaves needing approval at this time.

IV.F. Minutes from Previous Meeting

June Board Meeting - 6/21/16

July Work Session - 7/7/16

IV.G. Fundraiser Requests
IV.H. Policies 2nd Reading

03.4     Substitute Teachers
09.123  Absences and Excuses

V. Efficient Resource Management
V.A. Energy Project Funding
Tim Hockensmith

KU/LGE Energy Project Funding

Actions Taken

Motion Passed:  Approve the attached resolution regarding energy project funding. passed with a motion by Mr. Larry Pate and a second by Mr. David Norman.

V.B. Energy Manager Funding MOA
Tim Hockensmith

Energy Manager MOA for FY 2016-2017.

Actions Taken

Motion Passed:  Approve the attached Energy Manager MOA for 2016-2017. passed with a motion by Mrs. Diane Breeding and a second by Mr. David Norman.

VI. College and Career Readiness
VI.A. Instructional Fees
Ann Marie Williams & Kim Brown

Instructional Fees for 2016-2017.

Actions Taken

Motion Passed:  Approve request for instructional fees as presented. passed with a motion by Mr. Larry Pate and a second by Mr. David Norman.

VII. Safe and Caring Environment
VII.A. Head Start Memorandum of Agreement
Cheryl Pile

MOA between Nelson County Schools and Central Kentucky Head Start.

Actions Taken

Motion Passed:  Approve Memorandum of Agreement for Special Education Services between the Nelson County Board of Education and Central Kentucky Head Start. passed with a motion by Mr. David Norman and a second by Mrs. Diane Breeding.

VII.B. 504/ARC Chairpersons 2016-2017
Cheryl Pile

2016-2017 District Approved ARC/504 Chairperson

Cox's Creek                 Boston
Principal                       Principal
Guidance Counselor       Guidance Counselor

Foster Heights            Bloomfield Elementary
Principal                       Principal
Assistant Principal         Guidance Counselor
Guidance Counselor         

NCHS                           OKHMS
Principal                       Principal
Assistant Principals        Assistant Principal
Guidance Counselors     Guidance Counselor

Bloomfield Middle      Horizons
Principal                       Principal
Assistant Principal         Guidance Counselor
Guidance Counselor

ELC/Headstart/Private     District
Principal                              Cheryl Pile, Director of Special Education
                                          Mary Beth Clements, District ARC Chairperson
                                          Amber Ervin, District ARC Chairperson 
                                          Amy Jo Crumbley, District Speech




Actions Taken

Motion Passed:  Approve ARC/504 Chair People for the 2016-2017 school year by position. passed with a motion by Mr. David Norman and a second by Mr. Larry Pate.

VIII. Student and Stakeholder Engagement
VIII.A. Guest Comments
Board Chair

Guest Comment Policy
Any person wishing to address the Board may do so by following these rules:
Individuals representing themselves are limited to 3 minutes.
Individuals representing a group are limited to 5 minutes.
Please step up to the microphone, state your name and address, and, if you represent a group, state the name of the group you are representing.

IX. Adjourn Regular Session
Board Chair
Actions Taken

Motion Passed:  Motion to adjourn the Regular Session of the Nelson County Board of Education passed with a motion by Mr. Larry Pate and a second by Mr. David Norman.

X. Convene Executive Session
XI. Adjourn Executive Session
XII. Reconvene Regular Session
XIII. Adjourn Regular Session