Ohio County Fiscal Court RESOLUTION 2024-9

WHEREAS, the Delta Regional Authority Act of 2000, as amended, established the Delta Regional Authority (hereinafter "DRA") through federal legislation to address chronic and severe economic distress in the Region; and

WHEREAS, the DRA currently consists of 252 counties and parishes across eight states: Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri and Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, the DRA's primary purpose is to stimulate economic development and foster partnerships that will positively impact the economy by helping to create jobs, build communities and improve lives; and

WHEREAS, the DRA service area is defined not in any one legislation but expanded through multiple legislative advancements beyond the original 219 county service area: the Consolidated Appropriations Act for FY2001 (P.L. 106-554) added 16 counties in Alabama; the 2002 farm bill (P.L. 107-171) added four counties in Alabama; the 2008 farm bill (P.L. 110-234) added 10 Louisiana parishes and two Mississippi counties; one county was added administratively through incorporating H.R. 4043 as Title XI into the original Act; and

WHEREAS, DRA projects are developed in coordination with its 45 LDDs – multicounty economic development organizations financially supported by the DRA, and which advise on local priorities; the Green River Area Development District is an LDD in the Commonwealth of Kentucky comprising Daviess, Hancock, Henderson, McLean, Ohio, Union and Webster counties; and

WHEREAS, the DRA service area includes Henderson, McLean, Union and Webster counties of the LDD while Daviess County, Hancock County and Ohio County are not currently included within the DRA service area; and

WHEREAS, inclusion in the DRA service area would provide Daviess County, Hancock County and Ohio County with opportunities for economic development, infrastructure improvement and collaborative partnerships to address the economic challenges faced by the region.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Ohio County Fiscal Court that:

- 1. The Ohio County Fiscal Court expresses its support for the inclusion of Daviess County, Hancock County and Ohio County in the Delta Regional Authority.
- 2. The Ohio County Fiscal Court urges the Delta Regional Authority to consider the addition of Daviess County, Hancock County and Ohio County to its service area.
- 3. The Ohio County Fiscal Court calls upon state and federal representatives to advocate for the inclusion of Daviess County, Hancock County and Ohio County in the Delta Regional Authority.
- 4. The Ohio County Fiscal Court authorizes the County Judge-Executive to communicate this resolution to the Delta Regional Authority, relevant state and federal officials and other proper stakeholders.
- 5. The Ohio County Fiscal Court encourages collaboration with neighboring counties, states and entities to strengthen Delta Regional Authority's collective impact to address economic challenges in the region.

ADOPTED this _____ day of _____ 2024.

Ohio County Fiscal Court RESOLUTION 2024-9 Attest

Judge/Executive