KENTUCKY DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

STAFF NOTE

Action/Consent Item:

Appointment to the State Textbook Commission

Applicable Statute or Regulation:

KRS 156.405 (2)

Action Question:

Should the Kentucky Board of Education approve the recommendation for a reappointment to the State Textbook Commission?

Background/History:

Existing Policy. In accordance with KRS 156.405(2), the Kentucky Board of Education, upon the recommendation of the chief state school officer, approves the appointments of members to the State Textbook Commission for terms of four years. The State Textbook Commission oversees the state adoption process for textbooks and instructional materials. The Commission consists of ten members who represent the various areas of the commonwealth, two (2) parents, two (2) administrators, five (5) teachers, and one (1) higher education representative. Their responsibilities include approving substitutions, establishing the state multiple list, approving membership for a statewide review team, and developing an evaluation instrument for each adoption group with the assistance of the review team.

According to KRS 156.405(2), the State Textbook Commission is required to have ten members. Individuals currently serving on the Commission are as follows:

John W. Hardy, teacher, Grant County High School (Grant County)

David McFadden, teacher, North Laurel High School (Laurel County)

Catherine R. Fernandez, district-wide teacher (Henderson County)

Donna Lovell, administrator, Berea Independent Schools (Madison County)

Barbara M. Waltrip, teacher, Audubon Elementary (Daviess County)

Cherissa Eden, parent/lay citizen (Shelby County)

Dr. Cynthia Houston, higher education, Western Kentucky University (Warren County)

Vasco Perry, teacher (Hardin County)

Mark Thomas, administrator (Nelson County)

In June 2012, Dr. Thomas indicated he did not wish to be reappointed for a second term. As of June 2013, the terms of David McFadden and Catherine Fernadez will end, creating

three vacancies on the Commission. David McFadden has served one term and is willing to serve a second term. Catherine Fernadez served one term, but does not wish to be reappointed for a second term.

With the reappointment, the composition of the State Textbook Commission will represent all areas of the state, will consist of four (4) males and four (4) females, will be composed of one (1) African-American and seven (7) Caucasians, and meet the requirements set forth in statute, pending the appointment of a second lay citizen and the fifth actively employed classroom teacher. Applicants to fill the lay citizen and teacher positions are currently still being sought.

Staff Recommendation and Rationale:

Staff proposes that the board approve the re-appointment of the following person to the State Textbook Commission: David McFadden. The applicant is fully qualified to be a member of the Commission

Impact on Getting to Proficiency Efforts:

This process ensures that teachers and students have access to the most current instructional resources in a variety of formats and learning levels.

Contact person:

Felicia Cumings Smith Associate Commissioner Office of Next Generation Learners (502) 564-9850 Felicia.smith@education.ky.gov

Commissioner

Date:

June 2013